Lionel Messi of Argentina and Inter Miami has won the Men's Ballon d'Or for the eighth time.

The 36-year-old was honoured during the ceremony in Paris for his role in his country's World Cup victory in Qatar last year.

Jude Bellingham of England and Real Madrid won the Kopa Trophy for the world's finest player under the age of 21.

Messi was crowned Ballon d'Or winner ahead of Manchester City forward Erling Haaland.

Kylian Mbappe of France, who became only the second player in World Cup history to score a hat-trick in the 4-2 penalty shootout loss to Argentina, finished third.

"It's nice to be here once more to enjoy this moment," he remarked. "To be able to win the World Cup and achieve my dream."

"I couldn't imagine having the career I've had and everything I've achieved, the fortune I've had to be part of the best team in history," the former Barcelona and Paris St. Germain player continued.

"All of them [Ballon d'Or awards] are special for different reasons."

Norway international Haaland set a league record with 36 goals in 35 league games and 52 in all competitions as City won the Premier League, Champions League, and FA Cup.

He was awarded the Gerd Muller Trophy for top goalscorer in recognition of his performances.

"I want to thank Manchester City, the whole club," Haaland added.

"I also want to thank my family and all the people around me for making me who I am today."

Messi extends his lead over the rest of the pitch.

The Ballon d'Or honours the best player of the year and is voted on by 100 journalists worldwide.

Messi not only helped Argentina win the World Cup, but he also helped Inter Miami win their first trophy, the Leagues Cup, and has 11 goals in 14 appearances for the Major League Soccer club.

He currently has three more Ballon d'Or trophies than anybody else, with Cristiano Ronaldo winning it five times, the most recent in 2017.

For the first time since 2003, the Portugal international, who plays for Al Nassr in Saudi Arabia, was not put on the shortlist.

Martinez has been named the world's top goalkeeper.

Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa and Argentina World Cup champion earned the Yashin Trophy for the finest custodian in the world.

Martinez earned the Golden Glove in Qatar after stopping a penalty kick from Kingsley Coman in the final penalty shootout triumph over France.

He also assisted Aston Villa in finishing seventh in the Premier League and qualifying for the Europa Conference League.

Martinez, on the other hand, was booed by several in the audience at the Paris event. After winning the World Cup against France last year, the custodian was chastised for his celebration.

Manchester City has been named club of the year.


Manchester City was voted club of the year for the second year in a row at the awards.

Last season, Pep Guardiola's Manchester City became only the second English team to win the Champions League, Premier League, and FA Cup all in the same season.

They had seven players nominated for the Ballon d'Or for men.

Vinicius Jr. gets honoured as he swears to fight prejudice.


Vinicius Jr, a Real Madrid winger, earned the Socrates Award for his contributions off the pitch and pledged to continue speaking out against racism in international sports.

For the previous two seasons, Vinicius has been the victim of racial insults during La Liga games.

He was honoured for establishing a foundation that constructs schools in underprivileged places and invests in education in Brazil.

"I will fight racism with all my might," the Brazilian stated. "It is a very sad thing to talk about racism nowadays, but we have to continue in the fight so that people suffer less."