Sammi Awuku, the Director General of the National Lottery Authority (NLA), emerged as the NPP parliamentary candidate for the Akuapem North constituency, securing unanimous acclaim in the parliamentary primary held on December 2.

In a separate contest, Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei, the incumbent Member of Parliament for Akuapem North, triumphed in the Okaikwei North parliamentary primary with an impressive 341 votes, prevailing over six other aspirants in a tightly contested race.

The competition included Kenneth Kwabena Agyei Kuranchie (27 votes), Prince Owusu Mensah (6 votes), Akoto Alberta Afia Asomaniwa (228 votes), Nyarko Stephen Adipa (108 votes), and Fuseini Issah, the former MP for the area (114 votes), with approximately 850 delegates participating in the voting process.

In the Adentan Municipality, Akosua Manu (Kozie), Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana National Youth Authority, clinched the parliamentary candidacy for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) with 814 votes, surpassing her closest competitor, Kwasi Obeg Fosu, who garnered 638 votes. Kwame Obimpeh Winfred Nartey received 18 votes.

These newly elected NPP parliamentary candidates are expected to play significant roles in the upcoming elections, contributing to the party's goals and endeavours in their respective constituencies.

However, Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts, and Culture, Mark Okraku Mantey, faced defeat in his bid to become the NPP parliamentary candidate in the Ayensuano constituency in the Eastern Region. He gathered 136 votes, while Ida Adwoa Asiedu emerged victorious with 410 votes. The other aspirants, Ernest Addo and Kingsley Boateng Adomah, secured 4 and 3 votes, respectively.